Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

October 30, 2023

The Honorable Charles E. Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker of the House United State House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries Minority Leader United State House of Representative Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Majority Leader Schumer, Minority Leader McConnell, Speaker Johnson and Minority Leader Jeffries,

As members of the New Democrat Coalition, we write to advocate for the inclusion of \$6 billion in additional funding for the Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP) in any government funding package, to reflect the President's Fiscal Year 2024 emergency supplemental funding request. The ACP provides critical financial assistance to help American households afford broadband internet services. Access to high-speed and affordable broadband is vital to participating in our 21st-century economy. Communities without sufficient internet connectivity struggle to keep pace in a rapidly changing world increasingly dependent on technology. The New Democrat Coalition is committed to closing this digital divide and the ACP is a necessary tool to accomplish this goal.

Established in the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, the ACP currently provides broadband subsidies to more than 21 million households throughout the country. The program has had great success as millions of families who previously could not get online or struggled to pay for broadband access are now connected to the internet. By helping to secure broadband access, the ACP has allowed millions of Americans to maximize educational opportunities, increase telehealth opportunities, stimulate economic growth, and connect with loved ones.

At the current rate of enrollment, the ACP's funding will be exhausted as imminently as early next year. Failure to renew funding for the ACP would once again make low-cost broadband internet service unaffordable for millions of families, resulting in a significant loss of internet connectivity nationwide. This would be a significant step backwards in the progress Congress has made to connect more Americans to the internet through additional federal broadband investments.

The loss of the ACP would also reduce the efficacy of Congress' groundbreaking \$42 billion investment in the Broadband Equity, Access, and Deployment (BEAD) program. A recent study found that the ACP reduces the subsidy amount needed to incentivize broadband deployment in rural areas by 25 percent per-household. The ACP is necessary to maximize BEAD program dollars intended to build out our nation's broadband infrastructure and ensure that no community gets left behind.

¹ Clark, K., Fazlullah, A., Garner, D., Golnabi, S., Hill, H., Kalmus, M., McQuiggan, M., and Salmirs, E. (2022). Closing the digital divide benefits everyone, not just the disconnected: An analysis of how universal connectivity benefits education, health care, government services, and employment. San Francisco, CA: Common Sense.

Congress has recognized, on a bipartisan basis, that every American must be connected to the internet to prosper and compete in a 21st-century economy. We cannot risk millions of families losing access to the internet service they depend on every day by allowing the ACP to lapse. We stand with the Biden Administration in recognizing the ACP as a critical service for American families and a priority for our country. As you work to finalize a government funding package, we urge you to include robust funding for the Affordable Connectivity Program to sustain the program through December of 2024. This funding will keep Americans connected as Congress continues to work to develop a permanent funding pathway for this critical broadband program.

Sincerely,

Ann McLane Kuster

Chair

New Democrat Coalition

Angie Craig

Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey

Member of Congress

Colin Z. Állræd

Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D.

Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jt.

Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester

Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown

Member of Congress

Julia Brownley

Nikki Budzinski

Member of Congress

Y dira Caraveo MD Member of Congress

André Carson

André Carson Member of Congress

Troy Carter

Salud Carbajal

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Joaquin Castro

Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Jason Crow

Member of Congress

Jim Costa

Henry Cuellar Member of Congress Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress Madeleine Dean
Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Josh Harder

Jim Himes Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Jenn Ivey
Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Susie Lee Member of Congress Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Morgan McGarvey Member of Congress Seth Moulton Member of Congress Frank J. Mrvan
Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Stacey E. Plaskett Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Wiley Nickel Member of Congress

limmy Panetta
Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Mike Quigley

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Patrick Ryan Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Athrede

Hillary J. Scholten Member of Congress

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Lori Trahan

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Nikema Williams

Member of Congress

Jehnifer Wexton
Member of Congress

Susan Wild

Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez

Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa

Jennifer L. McClellan

Member of Congress

Greg Landsman

Member of Congress

Emilia Sykes

Member of Congress

cc: Chair of Senate Committee on Appropriations, Senator Patty Murray Vice Chair of Senate Committee on Appropriations, Senator Susan Collins Chair of House Committee on Appropriations, Rep. Kay Granger Ranking Member of House Committee on Appropriations, Rep. Rosa DeLauro