## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

October 14, 2022

The Honorable Thomas Vilsack Secretary U.S. Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Avenue SW Washington, D.C. 20250

Dear Secretary Vilsack:

We write in support of the State of Florida's request for the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) to declare a disaster for Florida counties that were impacted by Hurricane Ian, and to make assistance available to growers whose crops were damaged or destroyed.

Florida's growers have a unique role in the American food economy, as Florida is one of the only locations in the United States where major agricultural production can occur in the winter and spring months. Florida's agriculture industry feeds the more than one hundred million Americans who live along the eastern seaboard, when they otherwise do not have access to domestically-grown fresh food. In order to support the growers who were affected by Hurricane Ian, and to ensure that they can recover from losses and continue their important service of feeding America, the expeditious approval of a disaster declaration is warranted and necessary in order to have a successful winter and spring harvest season.

As you know, Florida's growers have been severely impacted by a range of challenges. Your support for the State of Florida's request would make a meaningful impact for our growers, and assist their efforts in support of our food security and national security.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

M. Th

Marco Rubio U.S. Senator

Rick Scott U.S. Senator

Vern Buchanan Member of Congress

C. Scott Framhlin

Scott Franklin Member of Congress

Bill Posey Member of Congress

Michael Waltz Member of Congress

Brian Mast Member of Congress

Kathy Castor

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

0

Byron Donalds Member of Congress

Alufalaja

Maria Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

Mario Diaz-Balart Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Debie Wassers

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Mial P L

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Lois Frankel

Lois Frankel Member of Congress

Val B. Demings

Val Demings Member of Congress

M

Matt Gaetz Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress