## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Rosa L. DeLauro Chair Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives H-307, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

## Chair DeLauro:

For more than four decades, across multiple Administrations and Congresses led by both Democrats and Republicans, language has been included in the Labor-Health and Human Services Appropriations bill that restricts federal taxpayer funding for abortion under most circumstances. The Hyde Amendment, named for its author, the late Illinois Congressman Henry Hyde, has always enjoyed broad bipartisan support. Before he entered the White House and as recently as June 2019, President Biden himself expressed support for retaining the Hyde Amendment in annual funding bills.

In his Inaugural Address, President Biden spoke of the need for unity among Americans. We agree that unity at this time is certainly needed, particularly in light of the divided political climate. And, while the country may be divided on the question of abortion, a significant majority of Americans do agree that the federal government should not use taxpayer dollars to subsidize abortion.

We sincerely urge you to keep the Hyde provisions and other similar Hyde-type policies that have been enacted in annual appropriations bills as you develop the fiscal year 2022 appropriations bills. These provisions reflect a time-tested balance of strongly held and differing perspectives on abortion in this country. As such, we will strongly oppose any appropriations bill that seeks to weaken pro-life protections or eliminates Hyde policies.

Thank you for your consideration of this request.

Sincerely,

Loket B. Aderlas 5 Kay Granger, Ranking Member Harold Rogers Robert B. Aderholt Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations Mike Simpson John Carter Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations Steve Womack Mario Diaz-Balart Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations mine derrera Beutler Jeff Fortenberry Chuck Fleischmann Jaime Herrera Beutler Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations hone &. Amores David Joyce Andy Harris, M.D. Mark Amodei Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations Chris Stewart Steven Palazzo David Valadao Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations Dan Newhouse John Moolenaar John Rutherford Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations Mike Garcia Ben Cline uy Reschenthaler Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations

Tony Gonzale

Committee on Appropriations

Committee on Appropriations