## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

June 9, 2023

The Honorable Glenn "GT" Thompson Chairman House Committee on Agriculture 1301 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable David Scott Ranking Member House Committee on Agriculture 1010 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Thompson and Ranking Member Scott:

As you begin crafting the 2023 Farm Bill, I urge you to include mental health resources for our farmers by reauthorizing the Farm and Ranch Stress Assistance Network (FRSAN). As we've all seen, there is no shortage of stress-inducing factors ailing farm country. From uncertain global markets to recent adverse weather conditions and isolation, numerous factors are contributing to a decline in ranchers and farmers' emotional well-being that requires action.

During the 2018 Farm Bill, Congress came together in a bipartisan fashion to reauthorize funding for FRSAN at \$10 million for each fiscal year. This program provides critical behavioral health programs in farm country that all too often suffers a severe shortage of mental health resources. After receiving full funding over the last four years, we must continue to support this commitment to America's farmers. According to the 2020 National Survey on Drug Use and Health from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, mental health disorders are prevalent in rural America, affecting nearly 7 million individuals in nonmetropolitan areas.

We urge you to give FRSAN thorough consideration and full support in its reauthorization as the Committee holds hearings and crafts the upcoming Farm Bill. Should an opportunity arise, please allow our office to assist in providing witness testimony of the success of FRSAN in meeting the needs of farmers and ranchers.

We appreciate your leadership and commitment to crafting and passing a Farm Bill that will shape the outlook for the future of rural America.

Sincerely,

Tom Emmer

Member of Congress

**Brad Finstad** 

Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse

Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks,

M.D.

Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D.

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Becca Balint

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Pete Stauber

Member of Congress

Lauren Underwood

Course Underwal

Member of Congress